Tickrate

irc.utchat.com #iPug

Tickrate

Postby Feisar » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:59 pm

I just wanted to bring to your attention some tests that were done a while back on Tickrate and make sure you were aware of it

With 30TR the hitbox specifies that you can hit any one of those players models and make the frags (i.e miss and still frag)

With 40TR this much

and 100TR its insane

What does this mean for UT?

Well... it means that people are able to miss and still hit, it devalues a players ability to aim finely and turns complete novices into skilled players

It means that everyone is hitting stupid ACC outta their ass, because they are actually getting acredited for misses

It means some maps are being ruined because the game is becoming frag heavy and a case of whoever sees each other first

It means the art of flag running is dying

It means complete irregularity of the hit boxes

It means that everyone is generally happy because they are typically hitting higher ACC and frags than they REALLY should be doing

It decreases the noticibility of lag, as its possible to frag even with a delayed bullet, due to the increased models to hit

So is it a good thing? i'm not 100% sure either way tbh, i just think we should perhaps evaluate it to make sure we have the right setting, CB used 35, i'd argue thats too low, iPUG uses 100, once again.. perhaps this is excessive
Global.iCTF I - Champions (·shøckWave·)
Feisar

Re: Tickrate

Postby TimTim » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:13 pm

TimTim

Postby Sonic|^ » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:35 pm

Lol, so hits being detected more accurately is bad?
Image.........
Sonic|^

Postby Sunny » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:39 pm

its not hits being detected more accurately... its shots that u arent meant to be hitting registering as kills u monkey
Sunny

Postby Feisar » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:40 pm

Ah ok TimTim, so long as its been accounted for